yes, therapy helps!
The 5 sacred laws of Islam (which must be met by every Muslim)

The 5 sacred laws of Islam (which must be met by every Muslim)

July 19, 2024

The religion of Islam, like the 3 main monotheistic religions, are based on several sacred guidelines in order to grant the category of "faithful" to it. In the particular case that any of these prevailing regulations are infringed, the subject will be declared impure.

At present, there are many scholars and specialists in Islamic theology who open a gap between the sacred and the interpretable because, as happens with jurisprudence, every law is a victim of manipulation. However, in Islam we find some unanimity when it comes to declaring the 5 basic and irrefutable pillars to profess that faith.

  • Related article: "The 6 differences between being Arab and being Muslim"

When was Islam founded?

It is universally recognized that Islam is the last religion that descended from heaven to reveal its message to the last great Prophet, Muhammad. . This Semitic religion (contrary to what many people think) was created around the year 622 in Saudi Arabia, exactly in the city of Mecca.

The first premise that Islam proclaims and that anyone should recognize when studying it, is the acceptance of "Allah as the only God and Muhammad as his last messenger." On the other hand, the Koran is the dogmatic book on which it is based, although the rest of the Jewish and Christian prophets are equally recognized, as well as the Bible and the Torah.

The 5 unconditional pillars of Islam

As could be the direct analogy with Christianity and its 10 commandments, in Islam, only 5 pillars were established that support all bases and reasons for being . In the following lines we will explain in detail what they are.

1. The "shahada" (testimony)

The first of the pillars, as we discussed in the introduction, assumes the acceptance and submission of the existence of Allah as the only and legitimate God , thus denying polytheism, and recognizing in the same way that Muhammad is the last prophet and the one to believe.

2. The "salat" (exercise the prayer)

In the Qur'an it is emphasized with great transcendence in this point, assuring that "anyone who deprives himself of salat will be deprived of paradise" . During the early expansion of Islam, the initial prayer consisted of performing up to 30 times approximately. God, expert historians say, downgraded that series 5 times to please his devoted followers.

These five sentences are based on solar time, which changes throughout the year. The first sentence coincides with sunrise (dawn), midday, mid-afternoon, twilight and night, always oriented towards Mecca.

3. The "zakat" (give alms)

It is recognized as a tax that the faithful must deposit on their private assets . That is, a minimum percentage on the value of the money you have, vehicle or any other type of property. In theory it is 3% of the total of all goods, but the will of each Muslim is at his discretion, being able to contribute more than stipulated.

4. The "sawm" (fast)

Surely, along with prayer, it is the second most important pillar, since it requires a sacrificial exercise that will judge the devotion of Muslims . The month of Ramadan (holy month) includes this commandment, which consists of fasting water and food throughout the day without exception; from dawn to dusk for no less than 29 days and no more than 30.

5. The "hajj" (pilgrimage to the sacred place)

The last but not least of the sacred laws that close with this chapter of the 5 pillars . There are specifically three sacred places for the Muslims: Mecca and Medina first, since it was the stone that Adam himself built as a sacred sanctuary (the Kaaba) and the place where Islam was born. Then there is Jerusalem (Al-Quds in Arabic), where the golden-domed mosque is located, since from there Muhammad ascended to heaven.

Some considerations

Although in many occasions the religions can be intransigent, in the case that occupies us with the 5 sacred laws of Islam, there are some exceptions to the fulfillment of them. For example, in the case of charity, those who are in a situation to cover their living expenses are exempt from it.

In points 4 and 5 (prayer and pilgrimage) something similar happens. If a person suffers from any type of pathology or physical limitation, he is also forgiven for practicing the fast . Of course, he is obliged to make up for his exception by feeding the needy. The pilgrimage must be done as long as resources are available for it.

In point 3 there is no type of pardon and / or excuse to avoid their practice, because although a person has reduced mobility or other physical difficulty, the Qur'an advises to pray in the most comfortable way possible, sitting for example.

Lena Salaymeh | The Beginnings of Islamic Law (July 2024).

Similar Articles